XCONSORTIUM(7) Miscellaneous Information Manual XCONSORTIUM(7)

XConsortium - X Consortium information

Releases 6.0 through 6.3 of X Version 11 were brought to you by the X Consortium, Inc.

The X Consortium was an independent, not-for-profit Delaware membership corporation. It was formed in 1993 as the successor to the MIT X Consortium. The purpose of the X Consortium was to foster the development, evolution, and maintenance of the X Window System, a comprehensive set of vendor-neutral, system-architecture neutral, network-transparent windowing and user interface standards.

The X Window System was created in the mid-1980s at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 1988, MIT formed a member-funded consortium to provide the technical and administrative leadership necessary to support further development of the X Window System. In 1992, MIT and the membership decided it was in their best interests to move the consortium out of MIT and create an independent, stand-alone organization. All rights to the X Window System were assigned by MIT to X Consortium, Inc. on January 1, 1994. X Consortium, Inc. closed its doors on December 31, 1996. All rights to the X Window System have been assigned to the Open Software Foundation.

The X Consortium was financially self-supporting through membership fees. There are no license fees associated with the use of X Window System standards and code developed by the X Consortium. Membership in the X Consortium was open to any organization willing to execute a membership agreement.

The X Consortium was a highly participative body. Members were encouraged to actively cooperate with the staff and other members in the design and review of proposed specifications, and in the design, coding and testing of sample implementations of those specifications.

The X Consortium accomplished most of its work using electronic mail over the Internet, with individual mailing lists for working groups. Internet electronic mail connectivity was viewed as a requirement for useful participation in X Consortium activities. Meetings were held as necessary, often in conjunction with industry conferences and trade shows.

Bob Scheifler
Office Manager:
Janet O'Halloran
Director of Marketing:
Paul Lavallee
Director of Engineering:
Jim Fournier
Manager, X Window System:
Matt Landau, emeritus
Technical Director, X Window System:
Ralph Swick
Technical Staff, X Window System:
Donna Converse, emeritus
Stephen Gildea, emeritus
Kaleb Keithley
Arnaud Le Hors
Ralph Mor, emeritus
Ray Tice
Dave Wiggins, emeritus
Managers, CDE Development:
Giora Guth
Peter Bohnert, emeritus
Manager, CDE Quality Engineering:
David Brooks
CDE Architects:
Kevin Samborn
Daniel Dardailler, emeritus
Technical Staff, CDE Development:
Art Barstow
Pascale Dardailler
David Kaelbling
Mitch Greess
Robert Seacord
Technical Staff, CDE Quality Engineering:
Chris Burleson
Tom Cavin
Sami Mohammed
Mark Schuldenfrei
Manager, Systems Administration:
Kevin Ethier
Technical Staff, Systems Administration:
Mike Donati
Amy Rich, emeritus
Anne Salemme

The X Consortium's activities and affairs were managed under the direction and oversight of a Board of Directors, elected annually by the Members. The Board was responsible for reviewing the achievements of the Consortium, approving planned work, appointing a President and other officers of the Consortium, and setting membership dues. The last Directors were:

Robert W. Scheifler, President, X Consortium
Dr. Forest Baskett, Senior VP of R&D, Silicon Graphics Computer Systems
Harold D. Blair, Apogee International Corp.
Roger S. Gourd, Gourd & Associates
Dr. Robin Hillyard, Chairman and Chief Technical Officer, Novasoft Systems
Don McGovern, General Operations Manager and Executive Dir., Hewlett Packard
Peter J. Shaw, Senior VP, NetManage
Michael Tobias, President, Tech-Source, Inc.

To reach the X Consortium public Wide World Web server, use the URL: http://www.x.org/

To reach the X Consortium public ftp machine, use anonymous ftp to: ftp.x.org

Adobe Systems Inc.
Cray Research, Inc.
Digital Equipment Corp.
Fujitsu Limited
Hewlett-Packard Company
Hitachi Ltd.
IBM Corporation
Megatek Corp.
Motorola, Inc.
NEC Corporation
Novell, Inc.
Oki Electric Industry Co., Ltd.
OMRON Corporation
SCO, Inc.
Siemens Nixdorf Informationssysteme AG
Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Sony Corporation
Sun Microsystems, Inc.
Tektronix, Inc.

Boundless Technologies
Hummingbird Communications Ltd.
Insignia Solutions, Ltd.
Mercury Interactive Corp.
NetManage, Inc.
Network Computing Devices
VisiCom Laboratories, Inc.
Walker Richer & Quinn, Inc.

Hughes Aircraft Company

BARCO Chromatics, Inc.
CenterLine Software, Inc.
CliniComp, Intl.
Component Integration Laboratories, Inc.
Draper Laboratory.
Electronic Book Technologies, Inc.
Gallium Software, Inc.
Georgia Institute of Technology
Human Designed Systems, Inc.
INRIA - Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique
Integrated Computer Solutions, Inc.
Investment Management Services, Inc.
Jupiter Systems
KL Group Inc.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Metheus Corporation
Metro Link, Inc.
Object Management Group, Inc.
Open Software Foundation
Performance Awareness Corp.
Peritek Corp.
Petrotechnical Open Software Corp.
Point Technologies, Inc.
Shiman Associates, Inc.
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
Software Development Corp.
SOUM Corporation
Spectragraphics Corp.
Tech-Source, Inc.
TriTeal Corp.
White Pine Software, Inc.
World Wide Web Consortium.
The XFree86 Project, Inc.
X Inside, Inc.
xorg-docs 1.7.2 X Version 11